Home | About Us | Contact | FAQ | Sitemap

> updated 20/04/09
Explorer Acheivement Award (type 2)

Explorer Achievement Award lapel pin (second version; the first version has the old "Big E" emblem instead, see below) Each pin is smaller than shown.

Explorer Achievement Award (type 1)


Exploring Uniform Left Front Explorer Achievement Award

Explorer Achievement Award

Harold Adams asked:

I am trying to locate any information available to find out if the Explorer Achievement Award was available during the 1970s. I have looked around trying to find an Explorer handbook from that era, but have not come up with one.

You won't find the Exploring Acheivement Award in an Explorer Handbook, Harold, because one, there wasn't one issued in the 70s (from 1971 through 1979) and two, the Exploring Achievement Award wasn't conceived until 1976 and approved in 1977 with the first awards in 1978.

If the award was available during that time frame, what were the requirements?

You're in luck, Harold. I was honored to be one of the originators and one of the first holders of this award, which only consisted of a lapel pin, certificate signed by the National Explorer President, and a square knot.

Exploring Acheivement Award (type 2)

Exploring Achievement Award (second version; the first version has the old "Big E" emblem instead)

The square knot emblem was shared with the previous holders of the Ranger, Ace, Silver and other awards less Quartermaster previous to the EAA and that was the stumbling block which prevented the award from existing a year or so earlier.

Exploring Award knot

The requirements for the Award, which by the way, still exists for Learning for Life/Explorers are the following:

1. The candidate must have been an active, registered Explorer for at least 18 months before final qualification.

2. The candidate must have been an active member of an Explorer Post or Ship and served in one or a combination of leadership roles, within the past 12 months (roles may be concurrent).

3. The candidate must have participated, as a participant and/or committeemember, in a District/Exploring Division/Council, Area, Regional or National Explorer event.

4. The candidate must, in consultation with the Post Advisor/Ship Skipper or a member of the Post/Ship Committee, set two personal growth goals relating to two of the six Explorer Experience Areas, in which the Explorer certifies completion of the goals.

5. The candidate must plan, prepare for, and lead to completion one or more Post/Ship activity projects which relates to at least two OTHER Explorer Experience Areas.

6. The candidate must submit evidence, such as letters or statements to the Post Advisor/Ship Skipper, that he or she is living in accordance with the principles of the Explorer Code and the Boy Scouts of America, A minimum of three letters of statements are required from (1) school/church officials, (2) employers/community leaders and (3) neighbors/adult acquanitances.

7. After the completion of all other requirements, the candidate is to meet with an appropriate assembly, outside of the post (in a district or Council Exploring committee meeting), to present orally and in writing, an overview of his or her experiences as they relate to the six Explorer Experience Areas; and a personal appraisal of how the pursuit of the Explorer Achievement Award aided his/her development as a young adult and helped him/her to live in accordance with the principles of the Explorer Code.

8. Finally, all requirements and qualifications must be met before the candidate's 21st birthday.

Thanks for asking, Harold. In the middle 90s, the EAA was replaced by the Exploring Growth Opporunties in Leadership Development (G.O.L.D) Award (same requirements, the addition of a medallion suspended from a white ribbon), which is still being used by the Learning for Life/Exploring program. Traditional Explorers (as in BSA Explorers) may earn the award until December 31st, 1999 at which time only participants in Learning for Life/Exploring may earn and wear the award (less the square knot). The requirements have been modified to remove all references to BSA activities and the BSA; the Explorer Code still exists for Learning for Life/Explorers until the end of 1999.

There is no provision for holders (there are nineteen, according to the BSA's old Exploring Division) of both EAA and G.O.L.D. Awards to wear a device or something denoting earning both, although some holders have chosen to wear the small Exploring device centered on the knot to signify earning both awards.

Exploring Award knot

The square knot emblem is currently also used by holders of the Exploration Awards (until 2003) and the BSA's Young American Awards as well as those holders of all previous Exploring awards before 1998.

Hope this all helps out, Harold!


Back to the Top of this Page

Credits: Scans courtesy of Mike Walton

This webpage is designed for printing, three-hole punching, and insertion into Your Binder!

Back to The Tree
Insignia mainpage

© 2009 Settummanque!
Designed by Mike Walton

Created with the CoffeeCup HTML Editor

*Boy Scouts of America®, BSA®, the Universal Emblem, Arrow of Light®, Cub Scouts®, Eagle Scout®, Scouting®, Order of the Arrow® and all other related marks and insignia, are either registered trademarks or trademarks of Boy Scouts of America in the United States and/or other countries. All other trademarks are the property of their respective owners.*
Home | About Us | Pubs | Contact | Getting Started | News | FAQ | Sitemap
Leaders' Online ™ Copyright 2009 Rose Walton. All rights reserved
Insignia used on these pages are © Boy Scouts of America ™ for the purpose of illustration only.